Silverstein releases track-listing for ‘Short Songs’


When Hopeless recording artists SILVERSTEIN announced the upcoming release of SHORT SONGS on February 7, 2012 (the 22-track follow-up to their critically-acclaimed album RESCUE), they were still in the process of choosing which original songs they would include and which classic punk songs they would cover. With each song clocking in at 90 seconds or less, the appropriately-titled Short Songs is divided into two halves: 11 originals and 11 covers from such seminal bands as Dead Kennedys, Orchid, Gorilla Biscuits, The Promise Ring, NOFX, Green Day and more. “Just with every album we produce, we’re always thinking of the ‘sides’ of a record,” explains drummer Paul Koehler. “In this example, Side A will be the originals, and Side B will be the covers. Each can be listened to as a contained unit, or you can easily play through just as on CD or in your iTunes.”

As an added “thank you” to their fans, one fan who purchases Short Songs through the pre-order that begins today will be chosen at random to receive a special care package directly from the band. The link for the pre-order is:

Produced by Jordan Valeriote who produced Silverstein’s previous releases Rescue and the Transitions EP, the band challenged themselves by thinking of music in a different way. Instead of constructing songs in the standard “three minute plus” format, they cut each song’s time in half and told a story in a compact fashion. “We had some difficulties learning exactly how these songs were played and adapting them to our own abilities (ex. our Orchid cover “Destination: Blood”). Part of this made it a better challenge and definitely opened us up to a lot more playing styles.” The title track “Short Songs” (originally performed by The Dead Kennedys) features guest vocals from Tim McIlrath (Rise Against), Chris #2 (Anti-Flag), Scott Wade (ex-Comeback Kid), Chris Hannah (Propagandhi), Paul Rousseau (Burst & Bloom), Jimmy Stadt (Polar Bear Club), Daniel Tremblay (I Am Committing A Sin), Mike Hranica (The Devil Wears Prada), and Nick Diener (The Swellers). Liam Cormier (Cancer Bats) guests on The Swarm’s “xOn Our Kneesx”.

1 Sick As Your Secrets
2 Sin & Redemption
4 Brookfield
5 La Marseillaise
6 World On Fire
7 Sleep Around
8 My Miserable Life
9 Truth & Temptation
10 One Last Dance
11 See Ya Bill
12 Short Songs (Originally by Dead Kennedys) featuring Tim McIlrath, Chris #2, Scott Wade, Chris Hannah, Paul Rousseau, Jimmy Stadt, Daniel Tremblay, Mike Hranica, and Nick Diener
13 236 E. Broadway (Originally by Gob)
14 Good Intentions (Originally by Gorilla Biscuits)
15 Destination: Blood! (Originally by Orchid)
16 Coffee Mug (Originally by Descendents)
17 xOn Our Kneesx (Originally by The Swarm) featuring Liam Cormier
18 Scenes From Parisian Life (Originally by The Promise Ring)
19 It’s My Job To Keep Punk Rock Elite (Originally by NOFX)
20 Quit Your Job (Originally by Chixdiggit)
21 The Ballad of Wilhelm Fink (Originally by Green Day)
22 You Gotta Stay Positive (Originally by Good Clean Fun)
Riding on a crest of overwhelmingly positive press, Silverstein has had quite a groundbreaking year, kicking off with Rescue’s debut at #37 on Billboard’s Top 200 Album Chart. The album has been lauded by the media including Alternative Press who called the album, “yet another consistently great Silverstein record,” and calling them “a band who continue to excel at their given genre, rarely deviating from its parameters but always finding new and creative ways to keep it fresh from album to album.” The Daily News chimed in, “Rescue offers what we’ve come to expect from Silverstein – a heaping helping of pop/punk punctuated by healthy doses of screamo.” UK-based Sputnik Music calls Rescue “a solid album by a group that is now becoming a very consistent band,” while Decoy Music hails it “perfect for fans of the post-hardcore genre.” The band also co-headlined this summer’s The Take Action Tour with friends Bayside, raising nearly $50,000 for this year’s beneficiary Sex, Etc.

Silverstein is Shane Told (Vocals / Guitar), Neil Boshart (Guitar), Josh Bradford (Guitar), Billy Hamilton (Bass), and Paul Koehler (Drums). Their fifth album RESCUE was released by Hopeless Records on April 26, 2011. Silverstein will be extensively touring North America and Europe in 2012. Short Songs will be released on Hopeless Records on February 7, 2012.

# # #!/silversteinmusic

For information, please contact:

Rey Roldan
Reybee, Inc.
(201) 223-9078

Gary Strack
Reybee, Inc.
(610) 694-0211


About is here for what everyone wants, live concert photography. We bring you up-to-date concert photos, features, CD reviews and anything else that is music. Our coverage spans from California to New York and everything in between. Enjoy your stay.

Thank you for visiting and if you want to see more or have any suggestions, email us.

None of the photographs on this site may be used elsewhere without permission.

Search Schwegweb
Follow Us!
Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.